Players celebrate and surround Yamil Asad after scoring the first goal in the club's history (X).

Sunday night, Atlanta United will meet fellow 2017 MLS expansion team Minnesota United FC for the first time in front of a nationally televised audience on ESPN2. Kick-off from TCF Bank Stadium is scheduled for 5 p.m. (EST) and will be the second consecutive match for both teams on national TV.

Atlanta fell to New York Red Bulls in its opening match, losing 2-1 to the two-time defending Eastern Conference Regular Season champions. Yamil Asad gave Atlanta the lead in the 25th minute, which sent the sold-out crowd at Bobby Dodd Stadium into a frenzy. The 55,297 fans in attendance marked the fourth-largest crowd at a soccer match worldwide last weekend, and also marked the third-highest attendance in MLS history for an expansion team’s first match.

Sunday, Minnesota will host its first match at TCF Bank Stadium, home to the Minnesota Golden Gophers football team. Minnesota lost to Portland Timbers, 5-1, in its opening match last weekend. Christian Ramirez scored the lone goal for the Loons, who were undone by three late goals for the Timbers.


  • Harrison Heath is the son of Minnesota Head Coach Adrian Heath
  • Michael Parkhurst was teammates with Bernardo Anor and Mohammed Saeid on Columbus Crew.
  • Kenwyne Jones and Kevin Molino are teammates on Trinidad and Tobago’s Men’s National Team.
  • Atlanta and Minnesota are both 2017 expansion teams.
  • Carlos Carmona will be unavailable for this match due to the red card against NY Red Bulls last week.
  • Three members of Atlanta’s coaching staff and three of its players are natives of Argentina.
  • Minnesota’s Bernadro Anor and Atlanta’s Zach Loyd will miss this match due to injury.



Sunday, March 12 | TCF Bank Stadium, Minneapolis, Minn. | 5:00 p.m. (EST)

Atlanta United (0-1-0, 0 points) vs. Minnesota United (0-1-0, 0 points)


Talent: Adrian Healey (play-by-play), Taylor Twellman (commentator), Julie Stewart-Binks (sideline)

English Radio: 92.9 The Game

Talent: Adam Schick (play-by-play), Jason Longshore (commentator)

Spanish Radio: La Mejor

Talent: Armando Carillo (play-by-play), Daniel Cantu (commentator)

Leave a Reply