Dragon Con, the internationally known pop culture, sci-fi, fantasy, and gaming convention, announced the winners of its 4th annual Dragon Awards, a fan’s choice awards program to recognize the best in books, comics, games, and filmed entertainment.

Leading this year’s Dragon Awards, A Star-Wheeled Sky by Brad R. Torgersen was the fans’ choice in the Best Science Fiction Novel category.

Dragon Con also announced three other convention awards, recognizing achievement in short fiction and lifelong contributions to the profession and fandom.

When We Were Starless by Simone Heller was honored with the Eugie Foster Memorial Award for Short Fiction, established in the memory of the Nebula-award winning author and long-time volunteer director. A juried award, the “Eugie” celebrates the best in innovative fiction. Previous winners are Fran Wilde (2018), N.K Jemisin (2017), and Catherynne M. Valente (2016).

Comic book legend George Pérez was honored with the Julie Award, given to an industry professional for universal achievement spanning multiple genres. Best known for his work with The Avengers, Teen Titans, and Wonder Woman, Pérez is also known for his charitable efforts, regularly raising money for myriad causes. Peter David, 2007 Julie Award winner and Pérez’s longtime collaborator, presented the award.

And, Edward deGruy was recognized with the Hank Reinhardt Fandom Award, given each year to an individual who has made significant contributions to fandom. deGruy co-founded Atlanta OutWorlders, an organizer of events for LGBTQ+ fans of science fiction, fantasy, horror, and gaming and is a long-time volunteer and director at Dragon Con.

The Dragon Awards were created in 2016 as part of Dragon Con’s 30th anniversary celebration. All fans – not just Dragon Con members or attendees – were invited to nominate their favorite properties for the awards and then select Dragon Award winners by voting on the annual Dragon Awards ballot.

More than 10,000 fans cast ballots for Dragon Award winners, selected from among 91 properties in 15 categories covering the full range of fiction, comics, television, movies, video gaming, and tabletop gaming.  Winners were announced on Sept. 1 at Dragon Con 2019 in downtown Atlanta.

Final voting was held via the dedicated Dragon Awards website, and the voting period ran from August 6 to August 31. The ballot was selected in an open nomination process in which fans nominated their favorite properties. The nomination period ran from early April until July 19. The best and most popular of the nominated properties were elevated to the ballot.

And the Dragon Award winners are …

Best Science Fiction Novel
A Star-Wheeled Sky by Brad R. Torgersen

Best Fantasy Novel (Including Paranormal)
House of Assassins by Larry Correia

Best Young Adult / Middle Grade Novel
Bloodwitch by Susan Dennard

Best Military Science Fiction or Fantasy Novel
Uncompromising Honor by David Weber

Best Alternate History Novel
Black Chamber by S.M. Stirling

Best Media Tie-In Novel
Thrawn: Alliances by Timothy Zahn

Best Horror Novel
Little Darlings by Melanie Golding

Best Comic Book
Saga by Brian K. Vaughan, Fiona Staples

Best Graphic Novel
X-Men: Grand Design – Second Genesis by Ed Piskor

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy TV Series
Good Omens, Amazon Prime

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Movie
Avengers: Endgame by Anthony Russo, Joe Russo

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy PC / Console Game
Red Dead Redemption 2 by Rockstar Games

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Mobile Game
Harry Potter: Wizards Unite by Niantic, WB Games San Francisco

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Board Game
Betrayal Legacy by Avalon Hill Games

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Miniatures / Collectible Card / Role-Playing Game
Call of Cthulhu: Masks of Nyarlathotep Slipcase Set by Chaosium Inc.

Leave a Reply