Atlanta United drew Honduran club FC Motagua in the Round of 16 for the 2020 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League during the tournament’s official draw in Mexico City Monday night.

FC Motagua, from the capital city of Tegucigalpa, Honduras, qualified for the 2020 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League as a 2019 Concacaf League finalist, an annual competition between teams from Central America and the Caribbean. Deportivo Saprissa defeated FC Montagua 1-0 on aggregate in the final. Since the Concacaf Champions League era began in 2008-09, the club has qualified for the competition five times, most recently in 2018. FC Montagua is the second most successful club in Honduras with 17 domestic league titles since the inauguration of the Liga Nacional in 1965-66. FC Motagua was founded in 1928 and plays its home matches at the 35,000-seat Estadio Nacional.

For the round of 16, the clubs drawn from Pot 1 will host the return matches, while the winners of matchups 1, 3, 5 and 7 will host the return leg quarterfinals. For the semifinals and finals, the competition bracket will determine the matchups and the clubs will be ranked as per the competition regulations to determine which clubs will host the return leg matches.

Full draw Results:


A1: Atlanta United FC (USA)

B1: FC Motagua (HON)


A2: Club America (MEX)

B2: Comunicaciones FC (GUA)


A3: Cruz Azul FC (MEX)

B3: Portmore United FC (JAM)


A4: Los Angeles FC (USA)

B4: Club Leon (MEX)


A5: Tigres UANL (MEX)

B5: Alianza FC (SLV)


A6: New York City FC (USA)

B6: AD San Carlos (CRC)


A7: Seattle Sounders FC (USA)

B7: CD Olimpia (HON)


A8: Montreal Impact (CAN)

B8: Deportivo Saprissa (CRC)



More information on how clubs qualify for the tournament is available here.

Leave a Reply