Concacaf conducted the official draw for the second edition of the Concacaf Nations League (CNL). The live event in Miami was hosted by TUDN’s sports anchor Lindsay Casinelli and included the participation of Concacaf President Victor Montagliani, Concacaf General Secretary Philippe Moggio, as well as former players Dante Leverock (Bermuda), Paulo Cesar Wanchope (Costa Rica) and Oribe Peralta (Mexico).

Prior to the made-for-tv live event, the Confederation’s 41 Member Associations had been divided into three Leagues based on the results of the 2019 CNL Group Stage (this includes a promotion and relegation system between leagues).

The draw results are as follows:

League A
Group A: Mexico, Jamaica, Suriname 
Group B: Costa Rica, Panama, Martinique
Group C: Canada, Honduras, Curaçao
Group D: United States, El Salvador, Grenada 

League B
Group A: Cuba, Guadeloupe, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados 
Group B: Haiti, Bermuda, Guyana, Monserrat 
Group C: *Trinidad & Tobago, Nicaragua, Saint Vincent, and the Grenadines, Bahamas
Group D: Guatemala, French Guiana, Dominican Republic, Belize

League C
Group A: Bonaire, Turks and Caicos Islands, *U.S. Virgin Islands, Sint Maarten 
Group B: Saint Kitts and Nevis, Aruba, Saint Martin 
Group C: Saint Lucia, Dominica, Anguilla 
Group D: Puerto Rico, Cayman Islands, British Virgin Islands

The 2022/23 CNL Group Stage will begin with home and away round-robin play on the FIFA Match Windows of June 2022 (double window) and March 2023. The Group Stage will be followed by the Concacaf Nations League Finals presented by Qatar Airways (CNLF) in June 2023 played between the four League A group winners.

Concacaf will announce the competition’s schedule in the coming days. Venues and kick-off times will be confirmed at a later date. 

* These nations have players we’ve featured on their rosters (Zahmyre Harris, Dre Fortune II)

2023 Gold Cup Qualification

The 2022/23 CNL Group Stage will continue to serve as the qualifier for the 2023 Gold Cup. Following round-robin group stage play, the League A group winners and runners up (eight teams) and the League B group winners (four teams) will guarantee their participation in the 17th edition of the Gold Cup.

Furthermore, 12 other teams will have an opportunity to qualify for the tournament via the Gold Cup Prelims. The Prelims will include the participation of the League A third-place finishers (four teams), the League B second-place finishers (four teams), and the League C group winners (four teams). 

Additional details regarding the 2023 Gold Cup Prelims will be announced at a later date.

Leave a Reply