Atlanta United's Matheus Rossetto dribbles during the match against New York Red Bulls at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, United States on Thursday June 30, 2022. (Photo by Dakota Williams/Atlanta United)

Atlanta United today announced its year-end roster moves ahead of the 2024 MLS season. In addition to the 18 players already under contract for 2024, the club exercised its contract option for Aiden McFadden and has three more players set to join the team on Jan. 1.

The club declined contract options on five players and has six other players out of contract. Options for Machop Chol, Jackson Conway, Clement Diop, Justin Garces and Efrain Morales were declined. Meanwhile, Ozzie Alonso, Miguel Berry, Miles Robinson, Matheus Rossetto, Amar Sejdic and Quentin Westberg are out of contract. The club remains in renewal negotiations with Morales, Robinson and Westberg.

The loans for Juanjo Purata and Xande Silva expire at the end of the calendar year. The club has declined the transfer option on Purata and has yet to make a determination on Silva’s transfer option.

Berry, Chol, Conway, Garces, Purata and Rossetto are eligible for the Re-Entry Draft. Alonso, Diop, Robinson, Sejdic and Westberg are eligible for Free Agency.

The MLS offseason begins on Monday, Dec. 11 with the trade window opening at 9:00 a.m. The End-of-Year Waivers process then begins on Dec. 12, followed by Free Agency on Dec. 13 and the Re-Entry Process, Stage 1 on Dec. 14. For a full breakdown of the MLS offseason calendar, click HERE.

Players under contract for 2024 (18): Luis Abram, Thiago Almada, Erik Centeno, Noah Cobb, Derrick Etienne Jr., Ajani Fortune, Giorgos Giakoumakis, Brad Guzan, Ronald Hernández, Franco Ibarra, Brooks Lennon, Saba Lobjanidze, Edwin Mosquera, Tristan Muyumba, Santiago Sosa, Jamal Thiaré, Caleb Wiley, Tyler Wolff

Option exercised (1): Aiden McFadden

Option declined (4): Machop Chol, Jackson Conway, Clement Diop, Justin Garces, Efrain Morales

Players out of contract (7): Ozzie Alonso, Miguel Berry, Miles Robinson, Matheus Rossetto, Amar Sejdic, Quentin Westberg

End of loan (3): Ezequiel Barco, Juanjo Purata, Xande Silva

2024 Atlanta United roster (as of Nov. 17, 2023)

Goalkeepers (1): Brad Guzan

Defenders (6): Luis Abram, Noah Cobb, Ronald Hernández, Brooks Lennon, Aiden McFadden, Caleb Wiley

Midfielders (11): Thiago Almada, Derrick Etienne Jr., Nick Firmino*, Ajani Fortune, Franco Ibarra, Saba Lobjanidze, Edwin Mosquera, Tristan Muyumba, Santiago Sosa, Adyn Torres*, Tyler Wolff

Forwards (4): Luke Brennan*, Erik Centeno, Giorgos Giakoumakis, Jamal Thiaré

*Player will join Atlanta United effective Jan. 1, 2024

Leave a Reply