The Confederation of North, Central America, and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today confirmed the final 20-player rosters for the group stage and knockout rounds of the 2019 CONCACAF Under-17 Championship. The redesigned competition is the largest CONCACAF Under-17 tournament ever.

The final two rounds of the men’s World Cup qualifying competition, to be hosted at the IMG Academy campus in Bradenton, Florida, will take place May 1-6 and May 8-16. The complete schedule is available here.

The Final Championship will begin with a group stage, in which the top-ranked 16 participating teams, based on the CONCACAF Men’s Under-17 Ranking as of May 2017, have been sorted into four groups. After round-robin play, the top three finishers in each of the groups will join Nicaragua, Dominican Republic¸ Guadeloupe and Puerto Rico (winners of Groups A, B, C, and D respectively) in the Round of 16.

The final rosters for all 20 participating Member Associations are available here. In line with the competition regulations, teams may make injury-related changes to their final 20-player rosters up until 24 hours before their first match.

The groups for the 2019 CONCACAF Under-17 Championship Group Stage are as follows:

Group E
Trinidad and Tobago

Group F

Group G
El Salvador

Group H
Costa Rica

After group play, the top three finishers in each of the groups will qualify for the knockout stage, joining the four group winners of the Qualification Stage in the Round of 16. The knockout stage of the competition will be played in its entirety in a single match elimination format, with the semifinalists automatically qualifying for the FIFA U-17 World Cup.

Fans will be able to follow all the action through the Confederation’s partner networks, including Univision Deportes (United States) and Fox Sports Latin America (Mexico & Central America). The event will also be available on CONCACAF GO (subject to territory restrictions).

In the previous edition of the CONCACAF Men’s Under-17 Championship played in Panama in 2017, Mexico won its third straight title and seventh overall, with a 5-4 penalty shootout win over the United States in the final.

Leave a Reply