The College Park Skyhawks, the official NBA G League affiliate of the Atlanta Hawks, announced that the only local tryout for the upcoming G League season will take place on Saturday, Sept. 14 from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. To protect the integrity of the tryouts, the location will be disclosed to participants once they pay the entry fee.

Skyhawks owner and College Park native Tauheed “2 Chainz” Epps will address participants prior to the tryout taking place. Doors open at 8 a.m. for check-in and the court will open for warmups at 8:30. Staff members from both the Atlanta Hawks and the College Park Skyhawks will evaluate players in skill sessions and live scrimmages, as players compete for an invitation to the upcoming Skyhawks training camp.

“The local tryout is a great opportunity for players to showcase their potential,” said Skyhawks General Manager Derek Pierce. “We’re excited to take this first step in building the roster for our inaugural season, and expect to see a great talent pool at tryouts.”

Those interested in trying out can register online at Forms and liability waivers need to be submitted by 5 p.m. on Sept. 11 and participants must be 18 years or older. The tryout fee is $175 (non-refundable) and only those participating may attend.

After going undrafted in 2017, Jaylen Morris attended the Long Island Nets local tryout and was drafted by the Erie BayHawks that season, before earning a call-up with the Atlanta Hawks in 2018.  Morris signed a 10-day contract with Atlanta and made his NBA debut on February 28, 2018, scoring two points in a 107-102 win over the Pacers.

Other notable NBA players acquired via local G League tryouts include Jonathon Simmons of the Washington Wizards and David Nwaba of the Brooklyn Nets. Simmons was a member of the Austin Toros (now Spurs) and went on to play for San Antonio, Orlando, and Philadelphia, and most recently, the Washington Wizards. Nwaba got his start by attending the Reno Bighorns local tryout and recently signed with Brooklyn, after stops in Los Angeles (Lakers), Chicago and Cleveland.

Leave a Reply