Atlanta United today announced its year-end roster moves ahead of the 2021 MLS season. In addition to 17 players already under contract for 2021, the club exercised contract options on defenders George Bello and Franco Escobar, along with midfielders Mo Adams and Jon Gallagher. 

The club declined contract options on Andrew Carleton, Edgar Castillo, Manuel Castro, Lagos Kunga, Brendan Moore, Erick “Cubo” Torres, J.J. Williams and Laurence Wyke. Jeff Larentowicz is out of contract. Moore and Torres will participate in the upcoming Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League held Dec. 15-22, with training camp scheduled to start Monday, Nov. 30.

Atlanta United Vice President and Technical Director Carlos Bocanegra will be available today via conference call at 11:00 a.m. See below for details.

Players under contract for 2021 (17): Ezequiel Barco, George Campbell, Jürgen Damm, Brad Guzan, Emerson Hyndman, Adam Jahn, Alec Kann, Brooks Lennon, Josef Martinez, Fernando Meza, Marcelino Moreno, Jake Mulraney, Eric Remedi, Miles Robinson, Matheus Rossetto, Anton Walkes, Tyler Wolff

Players out of contract (1): Jeff Larentowicz

Option exercised (4): Mo Adams, George Bello, Franco Escobar, Jon Gallagher

Option declined (8): Andrew Carleton, Edgar Castillo, Manuel Castro, Lagos Kunga, Brendan Moore, Erick “Cubo” Torres, J.J. Williams, Laurence Wyke

Of the departing players, Larentowicz and Torres will be available through Free Agency. Castillo, Castro, Kunga, Moore, Williams and Wyke will be available through the MLS Re-Entry Process. Carleton will be available through MLS End-of-Year Waivers. 

The MLS offseason officially begins Sunday, Dec. 13 at 9:00 a.m. with the Half-Day Trade Window. The MLS Expansion Draft is set for Tuesday, Dec. 15; however, Atlanta United’s roster is protected because it had a player selected in the 2019 MLS Expansion Draft. End-of-Year Waivers and MLS Free Agency will open Wednesday, Dec. 16. For a full breakdown of the MLS offseason calendar, click here.

2021 Atlanta United roster (as of Nov. 24, 2020)

Goalkeepers (2): Brad Guzan, Alec Kann

Defenders (8): George Bello, George Campbell, Franco Escobar, Brooks Lennon, Fernando Meza, Efrain Morales*, Miles Robinson, Anton Walkes.

Midfielders (10): Mo Adams, Ezequiel Barco, Jürgen Damm, Jon Gallagher, Emerson Hyndman, Marcelino Moreno, Jake Mulraney, Eric Remedi, Matheus Rossetto, Tyler Wolff.

Forwards (3): Adam Jahn, Erik Lopez*, Josef Martinez

* – joins First Team effective Jan. 1, 2021

Leave a Reply