the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra (ASO) and Music Director Robert Spano announced the first phase of the reimagining of its fall 2020 season, responding to the advice of medical professionals and public health officials in order to minimize exposure to COVID-19 for performers, staff and audiences. Under these conditions, all first-phase reimagined concerts in the Delta Classical Series through December 31, 2020 will be performed without a live audience and will be available to view and enjoy on the ASO’s Virtual Stage. The programs will be comprised of smaller orchestral ensembles and will feature Music Director Robert Spano, Principal Guest Conductor Donald Runnicles, selected guest conductors and artists, and ASO members as soloists.  

“Our patrons, donors and subscribers have shared with us how much they need the music of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, now more than ever, just as our musicians have expressed how important it is to bring comfort and connection to people during these uncertain times,” said Jennifer Barlament, Executive Director of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra. “At this time, the safest way to perform and engage with our community is through virtual performances. These programs are just the first phase of reimagining the fall season; stay tuned for announcements of smaller outdoor performances with live socially distanced audiences.” 

The following is an overview of the specific changes for the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra’s fall 2020 concerts. 

  • There will be seven concerts in the reimagined Delta Classical Series this fall. Performances will be led by Music Director Robert Spano, Principal Guest Conductor Donald Runnicles and guest conductor Nathalie Stutzmann. 
  • Featured guest artists will include violinist Gil Shaham, pianist Louis Lortie, double-bassist and Talent Development Program alumnus Xavier Foley, as well as Atlanta Symphony Orchestra musicians Principal Cello Rainer Eudeikis and Principal Bassoon Andrew Brady. 
  • Three previously scheduled performances are cancelled: the September 12 Symphony Gala
    Concert featuring pianist Daniil Trifonov, the ASO 50th Anniversary Choral Celebration on October 15, and the October 17 performance with Korean pianist Seong-Jin Cho. 
  • Due to the instrumentation and vocalists required on stage, the ASO will not perform the beloved Christmas with the ASO or Handel’s Messiah in December. New reimagined holiday programs for the Virtual Stage will be announced shortly.
  • Finally, all education and family programs will move to the virtual format, including performances for school age children, the Family Concert Series, Music for the Very Young performances and much more.

Updated Delta Classical Series Schedule – Fall 2020

Violin Superstar Gil Shaham Opens the ASO’s 2020/21 Season with Music Director Robert Spano 
Saturday, Sept. 26, 2020, 8:00 p.m.

Robert Spano, conductor
Gil Shaham, violin
Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 5
BEETHOVEN: Violin Concerto 

Robert Spano Leads an All-Mozart Program Featuring Pianist Louis Lortie
Saturday, Oct. 10, 2020, 8:00 p.m.

Robert Spano, conductor
Louis Lortie, piano
Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

MOZART: The Magic Flute Overture
MOZART: Piano Concerto No. 16
MOZART: Symphony No. 41

Principal Cello Rainer Eudeikis Performs Haydn’s Cello Concerto in D major with Principal Guest Conductor Donald Runnicles 
Saturday, Oct. 24, 2020, 8:00 p.m.

Donald Runnicles, conductor
Rainer Eudeikis, cello
Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

HAYDN: Symphony No. 60, “Il distratto” 
HAYDN: Cello Concerto No. 2 in D major 
BRAHMS: Variations on a Theme by Haydn

Principal Bassoon Andrew Brady Performs Hertel
SaturdayNov. 7, 2020, 8:00 p.m.

Robert Spano, conductor
Andrew Brady, bassoon
Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

HERTEL: Bassoon Concerto in A minor
BACH: Orchestral Suite No. 3
HANDEL: Water Music Suite No. 2

Talent Development Program Alumnus, Double-Bassist Xavier Foley Joins the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra 
November 14, 2020, 8:00 p.m.

TBD, conductor
Xavier Foley, bass

WEBER: Der Freischütz Overture
DVOŘÁK: Symphony No. 8
Additional programming to be announced

Robert Spano Conducts Ravel and Brahms
Saturday, Nov. 21, 2020, 8:00 p.m.

Robert Spano, conductor
Kelley O’Connor, mezzo-soprano

RAVEL: Le tombeau de Couperin
RAVEL: Shéhérazade
BRAHMS: Serenade No. 2 in A major

Nathalie Stutzmann Makes Her ASO Debut 
Saturday, Dec. 5, 2020, 8:00 p.m.

Nathalie Stutzmann, conductor
Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

MENDELSSOHN: Hebrides Overture 
WAGNER: Siegfried Idyll
BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 7

Leave a Reply